In Brief


August 17, 2018

YLS’s Katie Kraschel named one of ABA’s top 40 young lawyers

Of the awardees — all under 37 or admitted to practice law for a period of five years or less — Kraschel is the only one working in an educational setting.

August 15, 2018

Two Yale physicians honored as emerging leaders in field of aging

Professors Andrew Cohen and Guido Falcone have been awarded the prestigious Paul B. Beeson Emerging Leaders Career Development Award in Aging.

August 14, 2018

Astronomical Society of the Pacific honors Yale’s Pieter van Dokkum

For his work on the “Dragonfly” array, van Dokkum will receive the 2018 Maria and Eric Muhlmann Award on Nov. 10 at the ASP awards gala.

August 14, 2018

Dog adoption event on Broadway Aug. 19

The Robin I. Kroogman New Haven Animal Shelter will be on Broadway Island noon-4 p.m. on Aug. 19.

August 1, 2018

Dermatology professor receives early-career award

Dr. Peggy Myung is one of 18 scientists selected by the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation to receive a Clinical Scientist Development Award.

August 1, 2018

‘Appetizer & Dessert Crawl’ fundraiser to benefit New Haven Animal Shelter

The Shops at Yale and the Robin I. Kroogman New Haven Animal Shelter will host the second annual Appetizer & Dessert Crawl Fundraiser on Sunday, Aug. 19.

July 31, 2018

Dr. Lauren Ferrante wins conference fellowship for intensive care research

Dr. Lauren Ferrante has won a 2018 Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Society (ANZICS) Global Rising Star fellowship.

July 19, 2018

Yale’s Greg Laughlin named Kavli Lecturer

Astronomy professor Greg Laughlin will deliver the Kavli Foundation Plenary Lecture on Jan. 7.

July 10, 2018

FAS dean announces faculty appointments

Tamar Szabó Gendler, dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, announced the appointment of Yair Minsky as chair of the Department of Mathematics.

July 5, 2018

Yale center dedicated to research on older adults receives renewed funding

For the fifth consecutive time, the Yale Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Center has been renewed for funding from the National Institute on Aging.