Celebrating the Class of 2023: 20 students from the Elm City come to Yale

Twenty students from New Haven will enter the Yale Class of 2023 this fall, including 13 students who attended New Haven public schools. The students and their families attended a reception on Aug. 15 hosted by President Peter Salovey, Senior Vice President Jack Callahan, and Associate Vice President Lauren Zucker and her staff from the Yale Office of New Haven and State Affairs. Salovey welcomed the incoming first-years and urged them to “share their knowledge and love of New Haven with their fellow Elis.”

The students hail from six New Haven Public Schools: Achievement First Amistad High, Engineering & Science University Magnet School, Metropolitan Business Academy, Cooperative Arts & Humanities Magnet, Hill Regional Career Magnet High School, and Wilbur Cross High School. The other schools represented by the New Haven residents are Choate Rosemary Hall, the Hopkins School, and Phillips Exeter Academy. Prior to their Yale acceptances, 11 of the incoming students participated in Yale Pathways to Science and/or Pathways to Arts & Humanities — free, year-round enrichment programs that bring young people from New Haven onto campus to learn with Yale scholars and students.

The incoming students are Ivan Foskey, Ariana Plaza, Sung Shil Johnson, Salome Campos, Alex Wilkinson, Marc Gonzalez, Ida Brooks, Alexandra Rakov, Clare Chemery, Jorge Blanco Herrera, Justin Ye, Mel DeBlasio, Miles Williams, Neal Sarin, Owen Heaphy, Pablo Causa, Prastik Mohanraj, Priscilla Ehrgood, Priyanka Jain, Sophie Edelstein, Trey Lewis, and Yoony Kim.  

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this