Two Yale faculty honored by National Academy of Sciences

Pinelopi K. Goldberg and Paul E. Turner
Pinelopi K. Goldberg and Paul E. Turner

Two Yale faculty members were among 100 new members and 25 foreign associates elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in science, the academy announced April 30.

The new members are:

Pinelopi K. Goldberg the Elihu Professor of Economics 

Goldberg’s research focuses on applied microeconomics, international trade, and industrial organization. Her current research interests include the effects of trade liberalization on growth and income distribution, intellectual property rights enforcement in developing countries, and incomplete exchange rate and cost pass-through. She is chief economist of the World Bank Group and is on public-service leave from Yale while serving in that role. 

Paul E. Turner, the Elihu Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Turner studies the evolutionary genetics and genomics of viruses. His lab’s work has advanced the use of phage therapy, or the use of bacteria-killing viruses, to combat infections. Turner was also elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences earlier in April.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this