Yale Honors 10 undergraduate student employees with second annual Y-Work Award

Y-Work logo

Dean of Yale College Marvin Chun has announced that 10 Yale College students have been selected as winners of the second annual Y-Work Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Student Employees.

The 10 winners, listed below, were chosen by a committee composed of representatives from several Yale College administrative offices and resource centers. Chun will formally recognize the winners and the supervisors who nominated them at a reception later this month.

The Yale College Dean’s Office created the Y-Work Award to recognize undergraduate students whose dedication to their on-campus jobs has had a positive impact on the Yale community,” Chun said. “The nominations from these students’ supervisors made clear that their contributions to the offices and departments where they work have been extraordinary. I look forward to celebrating these outstanding students, their superb work, and the exceptional opportunities Yale offices and departments provide our undergraduates through student employment.”

The 10 winners have worked in a range of Yale departments, scientific laboratories, museums, and resource centers. From working on groundbreaking biology experiments, to designing and coding software, to speaking in front of hundreds of campus visitors, the winners have demonstrated a wide-ranging set of skills and have built robust résumés.

Employers, as well as graduate and professional schools, want to see real experience in a professional setting,” Director of the Office of Career Strategy and Y-Work committee member Jeanine Dames said. “On-campus jobs are a fantastic way to gain exposure to a new field, to develop and expand skill sets, and to begin building a professional network.”

The 10 students below will be recognized later this month are:  

Y-Work Award Winner Nominated By Department/Office
Katherine Brumberg, TC ’19 Jay Emerson & Winston Lin Statistics & Data Science
Joe Doran, TC ’20 Margaret Clark & Debbie Rueb Trumbull College
Maria Gargiulo, PC ’19 Jay Emerson & Winston Lin Statistics & Data Science
Paige Hollis-Villareal, JE ’19 David Brooks & Kristin Elliott Yale Hospitality
Lily Mirfakhraie, DC ’19 Elisa Rodriguez Cell Biology
TJ Noel-Sullivan, SY ’20 Xinyuan Chen Information Technology Services
Donovan Sabog, BK ’19 John Yi Undergraduate Admissions
Sarah Siegel, TC ’19 Stephanie J. L. Waite Office of Career Strategy
Odette Wang, BR ’20 Jessica Sack YUAG Education Department
Max Yuhas, TD ’20 Tom Migdalski YUAG Education Department
Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications: opac@yale.edu, 203-432-1345