“Inspiring Yale” honorees are all women faculty members this year

"Inspiring Yale" honorees, group photo
“Inspiring Yale” featured honorees (left to right) Christiana Purdy Moudarres, Anjelica Gonzalez, A.L. Steiner, Linda Honan, Deborah Berke, Amy Wrzesniewski, Katharine Baldwin, Stephanie Neary, Chantal Rodriguez, and chair of the “Inspiring Yale” program Sarah Malkowski. Not pictured: Shelley Geballe, Awet Andemicael, Anees Chagpar, Angel Hsu. (Photo credit: Sarah Smaga)

Inspiration comes in all forms and often pops up when you least expect it, agreed some of the speakers at the fifth annual “Inspiring Yale” event on March 27.

The Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS) sponsors the event every spring to recognize one “inspiring faculty” member from each of Yale’s graduate and professional schools. The faculty members are nominated by students for being the most inspirational of teachers.

This year, the iteration was different. In anticipation of the 50th and 150th anniversaries celebrating women at Yale, “Inspiring Yale” featured all women honorees in the event, which took place at the School of Management. Each honoree gave a short talk to showcase their work, commenting about what inspires them or how they conquered adversity. Though only 10 of the honorees could join in person, there were three honorees who recorded their remarks. These recordings enabled faculty to engage who would be away at conferences or at other venues, such as Angel Hsu, who is teaching across the world at the Yale-NUS College.

In addition to Hsu, assistant professor at Yale-NUS College and adjunct professor at the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, this year’s honorees are: Christiana Purdy Moudarres, assistant professor of Italian language and literature; Anjelica Gonzalez, the Donna L. Dubinsky Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; A.L. Steiner, a critic at the Yale School of Art; Linda Honan, professor of nursing; Deborah Berke, dean and professor of the Yale School of Architecture; Amy Wrzesniewski, the Michael H. Jordan Professor of Management; Katharine Baldwin, the Peter Strauss Family Assistant Professor of Political Science; Stephanie Neary, instructor in the Physician Assistant (PA) Online Program; Chantal Rodriguez, associate dean at the Yale School of Drama; Shelley Geballe, assistant professor of public health and clinical lecturer in law; Awet Andemicael, a lecturer at the Divinity School and Yale Institute of Sacred Music; Anees Chagpar, professor of surgery at the School of Medicine.

Also unique to this year’s “Inspiring Yale” was the honoree gift. Victoria Martinez, a first-year student at Yale’s School of Art, designed and handmade each gift. Martinez is an interdisciplinary artist who composes and structures mixed media public art, site-specific installations, and textile projects.

Inspiring Yale” was held in Zhang Auditorium and was attended by students, administrators, and faculty from across campus. A livestream of the event was available, enabling students to engage if they couldn’t attend in person (such as the students in Yale’s online PA program).

The program for the event and more information can be found at the Inspiring Yale website. Video recordings and photos from the event will be posted at a later date.


Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this