Holly Rushmeier appointed the Malone Professor of Computer Science

Rushmeier focuses her research on shape and appearance capture, applications of perception in computer graphics, and modeling material appearance.
Professor Holly Rushmeier
Holly Rushmeier

Holly Rushmeier, newly named as the John C. Malone Professor of Computer Science, focuses her research on shape and appearance capture, applications of perception in computer graphics, modeling material appearance and developing computational tools for cultural heritage.

Rushmeier earned her B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in mechanical engineering from Cornell University. She began her academic career at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where she conducted sponsored research in the area of computer graphics image synthesis and taught classes in heat transfer and numerical methods at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. She then joined the computing and mathematics staff of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, focusing on scientific data visualization.

From 1996 to 2004 Rushmeier was a research staff member at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, where she worked on a variety of data visualization problems in applications ranging from engineering to finance. She also served in the area of acquisition of data required for generating realistic computer graphics models, including a project to create a digital model of Michelangelo’s Florence Pietà, and the development of a scanning system to capture shape and appearance data for presenting Egyptian cultural artifacts on the World Wide Web. She joined the Yale faculty in 2004 as a professor of computer science, and currently co-leads the Computer Graphics Group at the Department of Computer Science.

Rushmeier is a widely published contributor to peer-reviewed academic journals. She currently serves on the editorial boards of ACM Transactions on Applied Perception, the Visual Computer, and Computers and Graphics.

The Yale professor’s honors include a National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator award and the ACM SIGGRAPH Computer Graphics Achievement Award. She is an elected member of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering and a fellow of the ACM.

Share this with Facebook Share this with X Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this