2019 student survey will assess campus climate on sexual misconduct

An aerial view of central Yale campus
(Photo credit: Michael Marsland)

In collaboration with the Association of American Universities (AAU), Yale today announced the launch of its 2019 Campus Climate Survey on Sexual Misconduct. In an email, Yale President Peter Salovey invited all undergraduate, graduate, and professional school students to participate in the survey.

Yale is among 32 member universities and one non-AAU university that will participate in the AAU’s national campus climate survey on sexual assault and misconduct.

The 2019 study is a follow-up to the landmark 2015 AAU Campus Climate Survey on Sexual Assault and Sexual Misconduct, which surveyed over 150,000 graduate, undergraduate, and professional students across 27 universities. The 33 universities participating in the 2019 survey have a total over 870,000 undergraduate, graduate, and professional students, so it is expected to be among the largest survey of its kind. AAU and the participating 33 universities have contracted with Westat, a leading social science research firm, to conduct the survey and analyze survey results.

It is extremely important that we hear from all students, even those who feel these issues do not directly affect them,” Salovey said in his email. “The aggregate findings from the 2015 survey were powerful and stimulated new action and research. By illuminating specific campus patterns and challenges, our local results helped build community engagement around improving Yale’s programs, processes, and policies for addressing sexual misconduct.”

The 2019 AAU survey will add a critical second wave of data, shedding additional light upon our ongoing challenges and helping us to assess the impact of our collective efforts,” Salovey continued. “The higher our participation rate, the more we will learn. So, I hope you will take a few minutes and respond to the survey now and then encourage your friends and classmates to do so as well.”

Participation in the survey is voluntary and individual responses will be confidential. Yale will not know if individual students have taken the survey or how they respond. For more information about Yale’s survey process, visit the Sexual Misconduct Response & Prevention website, which also provides information about resources and options if you or someone you know has experienced sexual misconduct. The materials from the 2015 survey, including the data tables, are available on Yale’s Title IX website. 

For immediate support, contact SHARE at 203-432-2000 or use the LiveSafe app. SHARE’s confidential services are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you have questions about the survey or have difficulty accessing it, e-mail CampusClimateHelp@westat.com or call 1-855-793-5324.

The AAU survey design team includes co-chairs Lily Guillot Svensen, associate director of Institutional Research at Yale University and Christina Morell, associate provost and director of Office of Institutional Assessment and Studies at the University of Virginia. The design team also includes researchers, practitioners, and administrators with expertise in survey research, sexual assault, gender issues, student affairs, Title IX, and other related topics.

The AAU universities participating in the survey are:

  • Boston University
  • Brown University
  • California Institute of Technology
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Harvard University
  • Iowa State University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Northwestern University
  • Rice University
  • Stanford University
  • Texas A&M University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Ohio State University
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Kansas
  • University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • University of Florida
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • University of Missouri
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Rochester
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Virginia
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Washington University-St. Louis

Non-AAU participating university:

  • Georgetown University
Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications: opac@yale.edu, 203-432-1345