National Clinician Scholars Program announces 2019 Scholars

Eight new Scholars will be joining the Yale School of Medicine in July as part of the interprofessional fellowship program.
2019 National Clinician Scholars Program scholars collage.

Top row, left to right: Cameron Gettel, Louisa Holaday, Elliott Miller, Katherine Nash. Bottom row: Jaclyn Portanova, Michelle Salazar, Keitra Thompson, Jasmine Weiss.

The National Clinician Scholars Program (NCSP) at Yale is pleased to announce the selection of eight new Scholars who will be joining Yale School of Medicine in July, 2019. 

The NCSP is an interprofessional fellowship program designed to prepare a select group of future clinician leaders to improve health and health care in the United States through scholarship and action at the national, state, and local levels.

The new Scholars at Yale, including three VA Scholars, are:

  • Cameron Gettel
  • Louisa Holaday
  • Elliott Miller
  • Katherine Nash
  • Jaclyn Portanova
  • Michelle Salazar
  • Keitra Thompson
  • Jasmine Weiss

An evolution of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Clinical Scholars Program, the NCSP at Yale has retained the central values of the RWJF program, including a commitment to teaching rigorous research design; ensuring scholars develop a nuanced understanding of how the health system and social determinants affect health; engagement of those who can help apply research results; and emphasizing the outcomes and impact of research.

In addition to Yale, the NCSP currently consists of five sites along with their affiliated VA Medical Centers including Duke University, University of California, Los Angeles, University of Michigan, and University of Pennsylvania.

Share this with Facebook Share this with X Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Ziba Kashef:, 203-436-9317