Yale honors 10 undergraduate student employees with inaugural Y-Work Award

Y-Work logo

Dean of Yale College Marvin Chun has announced that ten Yale College students will receive the inaugural Y-Work Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Student Employees. The ten winners, listed below, were chosen by a committee composed of representatives from several Yale College administrative offices and resource centers. Dean Chun will formally recognize the winners and the supervisors who nominated them at a reception later this month.

The Yale College Dean’s Office created the Y-Work Award to recognize undergraduate students whose dedication to their on-campus jobs has had a positive impact on the Yale community,” Dean Chun said. “The nominations we received made clear that these students’ contributions to the offices and departments where they work have been extraordinary. I look forward to celebrating these students’ outstanding work and the exceptional opportunities for learning and growth provided by the offices and departments that hire Yale undergraduates.”

The ten winners have worked in a range of Yale departments, scientific laboratories, museums, and resource centers. From working on groundbreaking physics experiments, to leading tours, to designing and coding software, the winners have demonstrated an impressive and wide-ranging set of skills and have built robust résumés. “Employers, as well as graduate and professional schools, want to see real experience in a professional setting,” Director of the Office of Career Strategy and Y-Work committee member Jeanine Dames said. “On-campus jobs are a fantastic way to gain exposure to a new field, to develop and expand skill sets, and to begin building a professional network.”

The ten students below will be recognized later this month are:

Y-Work Award Winner Nominated By Department/Office
Raffi Donatich, BK ’19 Nancy Kuhl Beinecke Library
Maria Eduarda Santana, JE ’20 Adriane Steinacker Physics Department
Benito Flores, TC ’20 Bianca Li Information Technology Services
Jaster Francis, BR ’20 Anthony Riccio Sterling Memorial Library
Cesar Garcia Lopez, ES ’18 Greg Watkins-Colwell Peabody Museum
Andrew Lingenfelter, MC ’19 Shyam Shankar Applied Physics
Harper Loonsk, ES ’18 Kathryn Dunn Ezra Stiles College Head of College Office
Leah Shrestinian, MC ’18 Daniel Jones Yale University Art Gallery
Pong Trairatvorakul, ES ’18 Sofya Zeylikman Center for Engineering Innovation and Design
Sydney Young, SM ’18 Oren Kanner ITS Campus Community Technologies
Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications: opac@yale.edu, 203-432-1345