Four faculty members appointed to endowed chairs

Jason Crawford, Roderick McIntosh, Zhong Shao, and Elisabeth Wood were named to endowed professorships.

Four Yale faculty members — Jason Crawford, Roderick McIntosh, Zhong Shao, and Elisabeth Wood — were appointed to endowed professorships.

Crawford, named as the Maxine F. Singer ’57 Ph.D. Associate Professor of Chemistry and Microbial Pathogenesis, focuses his research on developing and systematically applying genome sequence-guided methods for the discovery of genetically encoded small molecules from mutualistic and pathogenic microorganisms. Read Crawford’s announcement.

McIntosh, appointed as the Clayton Stephenson/Yale Class of 1954 Professor of Anthropology, is an archaeologist who studies the ancient past of Africa, as well as the origin of complex societies worldwide (especially urbanism), paleoclimate and human response, the intellectual history of archaeology, and the suppression of the illicit international traffic in art and antiquities. Read McIntoch’s announcement.

Shao, designated as the Thomas L. Kempner Professor of Computer Science, focuses his research on programming languages, compilers, formal methods, and operating systems. Read Shao’s announcement.

Wood, named as the Franklin Muzzy Crosby Professor of the Human Environment, focuses her research on political violence, particularly sexual violence during war; the emergence and resolution of civil wars; collective action and social movements; transitions to democracy; distributive politics, especially agrarian; and the politics of Latin America and Africa. Read Wood’s announcement.

Share this with Facebook Share this with X Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this