Four from Yale elected to National Academy of Medicine

Four Yale faculty members were among 80 people worldwide elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine), the academy announced Oct. 19.

The new Yale inductees are:

Ronald Duman, the Elizabeth Mears and House Jameson Professor of Psychiatry and professor of neuroscience at the Yale School of Medicine.

Duman’s research is focused on identifying the molecular and cellular changes in the adult brain associated with stress, depression, and antidepressant treatments. His research on the anti-depressive effects of ketamine have helped spur development of novel therapeutic agents

Murat Günel, the Nixdorff-German Professor and Chairman, Department of Neurosurgery, and professor of neurobiology and genetics, Yale School of Medicine and chief, Department of Neurosurgery, Yale-New Haven Hospital. 

Günel’s research focuses on gene discovery in diseases of the human brain, including development, vascular disease and tumors as well as analysis  of how these mutations lead to these disorders. This work has led to personalized treatments for brain tumor patients at Yale-New Haven Hospital. 

David A. McCormick, the Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neuroscience at the Yale School of Medicine. 

McCormick’s lab uses a variety of techniques to explore the cellular and network mechanisms of cerebral cortex. His study of arousal states have helped identify neural circuits involved in optimal performance in animals with long-term goal of understanding roots of behavior in both healthy and diseased brains. 

Laura Elizabeth Niklason, professor of anesthesiology and biomedical engineering at Yale University.

Niklason’s research is focused on creating engineered blood vessels, lung tissue, and cardiac muscle. She is currently testing engineered arteries in patients with vascular disease and renal failure. In 2010, her research team created artificial lungs that were capable of gas exchange, a fundamental function of the lungs, in a rat model.

Each year, the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) recognizes professionals who have made outstanding contributions in fields such as the medical sciences health care, and public health, and who have demonstrated a commitment to volunteer service.  At its annual meeting, NAM announced 70 new members from the United States and 10 from other countries.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Bill Hathaway:, 203-432-1322