Gruber Foundation honors excellence in neuroscience, cosmology, and genetics

test test

The Gruber Foundation has awarded three International Prizes that honor individuals for their groundbreaking work in the sciences.

The Gruber Foundation was established at Yale to honor and encourage excellence in the fields of cosmology, genetics, neuroscience, justice, and women’s rights. It has continued the International Prize Program of The Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation, founded by the philanthropists in 1993 as the Peter Gruber Foundation. Considered among the most prestigious awards in the sciences, the $500,000 International Prizes honor individuals whose groundbreaking work provides new models that inspire and enable fundamental shifts in knowledge.

The recipients of the 2015 Gruber Prizes are:

Cosmology: John E. Carlstrom, University of Chicago; Jeremiah P. Ostriker, Princeton University; and Lyman A. Page Jr., Princeton University.

Genetics: Emmanuelle Charpentier, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research in Germany and Umeå University in Sweden; Jennifer Doudna, University of California–Berkeley

Neuroscience: Michael Greenberg, chair of the Department of Neurobiology and the Nathan Marsh Pusey Professor of Neurobiology at Harvard Medical School; and Carla Shatz, the David Starr Jordan Director of Bio-X and the Sapp Family Provostial Professor of Biology and Neurobiology at Stanford University

The Gruber Program for Global Justice and Women’s Rights, administered by Yale Law School, now promotes the missions of the former Justice and Women’s Rights Prizes. The Gruber Foundation, in partnership with preeminent science organizations, funds young scientist awards in the three science fields, as well as the Gruber Science Fellowship at Yale.

For more information, visit the foundation’s website.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Bill Hathaway:, 203-432-1322