Four Yale affiliates elected to National Academy of Sciences

test test

Three current Yale professors and one soon-to-be faculty member have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).

They are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries selected for membership in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The newly elected Yale faculty members are:

Robert Schoelkopf, Sterling Professor of Applied Physics and Physics;

Christine Jacobs-Wagner, professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology;

Jennifer Richeson, currently at Northwestern University, who will join Yale’s Department of Psychology in 2016; and

Nancy Carrasco, professor of cellular and molecular physiology and a native of Mexico, who was elected as a foreign associate. Foreign associates are non-voting members of the NAS, with citizenship outside the United States.

Schoelkopf’s research concerns quantum-effect and single-electron devices; Jacobs-Wagner’s research explores molecular mechanisms involved in the internal organization of bacteria; Richeson’s research focuses on prejudice, stereotyping, and intergroup relations; and Carraso’s research examines the mechanisms of cell membrane transport.

“We are thrilled to have these fabulous scientists elected to the National Academy. The wide range of their fields of inquiry is emblematic of the amazing breadth of the research community in our university,” said Steven Girvin, deputy provost for science & technology.

Schoelkopf, Jacobs-Wagner, Richeson, Carrasco and the other newly elected members will be formally inducted at the NAS annual meeting next year — bringing the total number of active members to 2,250 and the total number of foreign associates to 452. When they are formally inducted next year, the Yale affiliates will join the ranks of notable past and current members such as Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, non-profit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council — provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications:, 203-432-1345