Seven Yale faculty members elected to AAAS

test test

Seven Yale faculty members are among the leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts who have been elected as fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies.

Since its founding in 1780, the AAAS has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation. These have included George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Margaret Meade and Martin Luther King Jr. in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The academy is a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

The Yale faculty members joining the AAAS Class of 2015 are:

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 10 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

The complete list of the 197 new members can be found here.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications:, 203-432-1345