Seven cadets take the Oath of Enlistment

Nine Air Force ROTC cadets from Detachment 009 assembled in Beinecke Plaza on Sept. 4 and took the Oath of Enlistment into the United States Air Force.

Six of those cadets are Yale freshmen: Sean Bland (Ezra Stiles), Noah Cho (Berkeley), Sierra Jackson (Jonathan Edwards), Abhishek Nayar (Timothy Dwight), Nicholas Sherman (Davenport), and Zachary Wilson (Trumbull); one is a Yale sophomore: Madeline Skrocki (Calhoun); and two are from the University of New Haven: Janna Rosenthal ’17 and Carissa Silva ’16.

Cadet Carissa Silva of the University of New Haven hugs her little brother at the ROTC Oath of Enlistment ceremony.

The new Detachment 009 Commander, Colonel Phil Haun, presided over the ceremony, which was attended by Yale officials — including the Jonathan Holloway, dean of Yale College; Joe Gordon, deputy dean of Yale College; and William Whobrey, dean of Summer Sessions — as well as family members of the cadets and fellow classmates. All told, over 100 students, alumni, faculty, and friends of Air Force ROTC attended the event.

Cadet Madeline Skrocki ’17 of Calhoun College (center) poses with the friends who came to watch her as she took the Oath of Enlistment.
Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this