Two masters reappointed: Laurans at JE and Hudak at Saybrook

Two current residential college masters — Penelope Laurans at Jonathan Edwards (JE) and Paul Hudak at Saybrook — have been reappointed, President Peter Salovey announced.

Penelope Laurans

Laurans, who is also the special assistant to the president and a lecturer in English, was named as JE master in 2010, after serving for a year as interim master.

A review committee of JE fellows “reported in the warmest possible terms the enthusiastic support of faculty, staff, and students for her leadership of the college,” noted Salovey in announcing the reappointment.

“Master Laurans is beloved by students for the imaginative and dedicated ways in which she leads the JE community. Her attention to the artistic, intellectual, and social life within JE has created an environment that enriches the Yale experience of all JE Spiders. We are therefore deeply appreciative of her willingness to continue to serve in this important role,” said the President.

Salovey also thanked the review committee: Ellen Rosand, the George A. Saden Professor of Music (chair); Thomas Appelquist, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics; Lynn Cooley, the C.N.H. Long Professor of Genetics, professor of cell biology, and molecular, cellular, and developmental biology; William Goetzmann, the Edwin J. Beinecke Professor of Finance and Management Studies; and Caroline Hendel, senior associate general counsel.

“We know that all members of the JE community join with them and us in congratulating Master Laurans and in wishing her continued success in JE,” said Salovey.

Paul Hudak

Paul Hudak, professor of computer science, was named as master of Saybrook College in 2009.

The review committee of Saybrook fellows praised Hudak’s vision for Saybrook — the creation of “a well-integrated, supportive, and caring environment that facilitates safety, productivity, growth, and fun for the students” — said Salovey in his announcement.

“Faculty, staff, and students expressed deep appreciation for his approachable nature and his thoughtful and caring demeanor.  Master Hudak has introduced initiatives into college life that have been well received and have served to strengthen the sense of community and belonging.  … We are grateful for his willingness to continue to serve in this important role,” added Salovey.

The president also thanked the members of the review committee: Dr. Michael Cappello, professor of pediatrics, microbial pathogenesis and public health, and director of the Yale World Fellows Program (chair); Megan Barnett, associate dean of the Law School; Phyllis Granoff, the Lex Hixon Professor of World Religions; Stephen Stearns, the Edward P. Bass Professor of Ecology/Evolutionary Biology; and Bobbi Stuart, lecturer in English.

“We know that all members of the Saybrook community join with them and us in congratulating Master Hudak and in wishing him continued success in Saybrook,” concluded Salovey.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications:, 203-432-1345