Eight Yale faculty members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

test test

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) has honored eight Yale faculty members with election as new members.

They are among 204 new members elected to AAAS. Members of the 2014 class include winners of the Nobel Prize; the Wolf Prize; the Pulitzer Prize; National Medal of the Arts; MacArthur, Guggenheim, and Fulbright Fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar, and Tony Awards.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Margaret Meade and Martin Luther King Jr. in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The Yale faculty members named as fellows are:

Steven T. Berry, the James Burrows Moffatt Professor of Economics;

Walter Cahn, the Carnegie Professor Emeritus of the History of Art;

Pinelopi K. Goldberg, the William K. Lanman Jr. Professor of Economics;

David A. McCormick, the Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neurobiology, professor of psychology, and vice director of the Kavli Institute for Neuroscience at the Yale University School of Medicine;

George L. Priest, the Edward J. Phelps Professor of Law and Economics and the Kauffman Distinguished Research Scholar in Law, Economics, and Entrepreneurship at the Yale Law School;

David Gilliam Schatz, professor of immunobiology and molecular biophysics and biochemistry at the Yale School of Medicine and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator;

Ramamurti Shankar, the John Randolph Huffman Professor of Physics and Applied Physics; and

John Fabian Witt, the Allen H. Duffy Class of 1960 Professor of Law at the Yale Law School and a professor of history.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 11 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Bess Connolly: elizabeth.connolly@yale.edu, 203-432-1324