Live from Stockholm: Watch Yale’s Nobel laureates receive their prizes

test test
James E. Rothman and Robert J. Shiller

You don’t have to travel to Sweden to see Yale’s newest Nobel Prize-winning faculty members — Robert J. Shiller and James E. Rothman ’71 B.A. — receive their awards on Tuesday, Dec. 10: You can watch the ceremony as it unfolds via livestream at, the official website of the Nobel Prize.

The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony, held in the Stockholm Concert Hall, will begin at 10:30 a.m. (EST).

On Oct. 7 it was announced that Rothman had won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work on how molecular messages are transmitted inside and outside of our cells. Rothman is the Fergus F. Wallace Professor of Biomedical Sciences, professor and chair of the Department of Cell Biology, and professor of chemistry at Yale. He shares the prize with Randy Schekman of the University of California, Berkeley and Thomas Südhof of Stanford University. Read more about Rothman and his work.

A week later, on Oct. 14, came the news that Robert J. Shiller had been awarded the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences (formally, the 2013 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel). Shiller, Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale, shares the prize with Eugene F. Fama and Lars Peter Hansen from the University of Chicago. The three were honored “for their empirical analysis of asset prices.” Read more about Shiller and his work.

At the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony, Shiller and Rothman will receive a Nobel Medal, a Nobel Diploma, and a cash award (shared with their co-winners) of 8.0 million kronors — approximately $1 million.

In the week leading up to the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony, this year’s laureates will present lectures about their work. Rothman’s talk will take place on Dec. 7, and Shiller’s on Dec. 8. A podcast featuring Rothman, the first in a new series of interviews with Nobel laureates, is currently featured on

Yale’s two other Nobel Prize-winning faculty members are:

  • Sidney Altman, Sterling Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, who received a Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1989 (jointly with Thomas R. Chech) for their discovery of catalytic properties of RNA.
  • Thomas Steitz, Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, who won a Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2009 (jointly with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Ada E. Yonath) for their studies of the structure and function of the ribosome.
Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications:, 203-432-1345