Six Yale researchers honored for early-career achievements

Six Yale researchers are among 126 recipients of the Sloan Research Fellowships, given to early-career scientists whose achievements identify them as rising stars.

“Today’s Sloan Research Fellows are tomorrow’s Nobel Prize winners,” said Dr. Paul L. Joskow, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, which has been awarding the fellowships since 1955. “These outstanding men and women are responsible for some of the most exciting science being done today. The foundation is proud to support them during this pivotal stage of their careers.”

This year’s Yale winners featured three researchers from neuroscience, and one each from physics, chemistry, and economics. The fellows hail from 51 colleges and universities across the United States and Canada, and each will be awarded a $50,000 grant to further their research.

“We are thrilled that six of are our wonderfully talented young faculty members have been recognized with Sloan Fellowships,” said Steven Girvin, deputy provost for science and technology. “Their research is advancing the frontiers of human knowledge in a wide range of areas from high energy physics to the inner workings of the brain.”

The Yale winners and their areas of research are:

Jessica A. Cardin, neuroscience
Tobias Golling, physics
Seth B. Herzon, chemistry
Janghoo Lim, neuroscience
Nancy Qian, economics
Satinder Kaur Singh, neuroscience.

See a complete list of this year’s Sloan Fellowship winners.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs & Communications:, 203-432-1345