Yale chemistry chair named AAAS fellow

Scott J. Miller, chair of the Department of Chemistry, has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the organization that publishes the journal Science.

Scott Miller
Scott Miller

The AAAS cited Miller’s “visionary approach to catalysis that has resulted in new types of reactivity and unprecedented selectivity in asymmetric synthesis and natural product modification.”

The new fellows will be recognized Feb. 18 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the organization’s annual meeting in Vancouver, Canada.

Miller is the Irénée du Pont Professor and Chair of Chemistry. He joined the Yale faculty in 2006. See his  webpage for more information about his research.

Founded in 1848, AAAS began designating fellows in 1874. Science, its flagship publication, has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of one million.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this