Awards & Honors - Archived

Archived of Awards & Honors.

Akiko Iwasaki honored for career achievements

Akiko Iwasaki has been honored with the 2011 AAI-BD Biosciences Investigator Award for outstanding, early-career research contributions to the field of immunology.

Iwasaki is an associate professor of immunobiology and molecular, cellular and developmental biology. In a talk to the conference where she was honored, Iwasaki presented her research on mechanisms of innate and adaptive antiviral responses.

Architecture student wins diversity scholarship

Marcus Addison Hooks, a student at the School of Architecture, received second-prize honors in the annual Diversity Scholarship awarded by Gensler, a global design, planning and strategic consulting firm.

The Gensler Diversity Scholarship is a juried program that recognizes emerging talent in African-American college students enrolled in an accredited architecture program. Winners receive an academic scholarship and a full-time internship with Gensler.

Yale student awarded Trudeau Scholarship

Sébastien Jodoin, a first-year doctoral student at the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, is one of 14 Canadian and foreign scholars to be awarded a $180,000 Trudeau Scholarship.

Trudeau Scholarships are granted to students studying the social sciences and humanities and issues related to the environment, international affairs, responsible citizenship, and human rights and dignity.

Jodoin is conducting research on the role of human rights in enhancing the legitimacy of conservation initiatives; in guiding, supporting and constraining climate change policy-making; and in the formulation of socially responsible policies for extractive industries that operate in developing countries.

The scholarships are awarded by the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation, a Canadian charity established in 2001 in memory of the former prime minister.

For more information about the scholarship, visit

Faculty appointment

President Richard C. Levin announced he will propose the appointment of Pieter van Dokkum, professor of astronomy, as chair of the Department of Astronomy. His term will be for three years, effective July 1.

John Leventhal awarded Miller-Sarkin mentoring award

Dr. John Leventhal, medical director of child abuse programs and child abuse prevention programs at Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital (YNHCH), has been awarded the Miller-Sarkin Mentoring Award by the Pediatric Academic Societies.

The award was given in recognition of outstanding mentorship to learners or colleagues nationally and locally. It is named for and honors the work of physicians Steven Miller and Richard Sarkin, who were killed in an airplane crash in 2004 while en route to a presentation to a group of physicians.

Leventhal is professor of pediatrics at the School of Medicine with a joint appointment at the Child Study Center. He serves as medical director of YNHCH’s child abuse committee and sexual abuse clinic and has mentored and supervised trainees and junior faculty at Yale and throughout the country.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Dorie Baker:, 203-432-1345