Six Yale affiliates elected to National Academy of Sciences

William Jorgensen, Sterling Professor of Chemistry, and five Yale alumni have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

They are among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates from 15 countries elected this year in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Jorgensen’s research focuses on organic, medicinal and computational chemistry including simulations of organic and enzymatic reactions, computer-aided drug design, and the synthesis and development of therapeutic agents targeting infectious, inflammatory and hyperproliferative diseases.

“Bill is a pioneer in so many areas of molecular science, and we are absolutely delighted that he has been recognized in this way,” said Scott Miller, chair of the chemistry department.

Jorgensen is also a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Chemical Society and the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences.

The Yale alumni also inducted into the National Academy of Sciences are:

Arthur L. Beaudet ‘67 M.D., the Henry and Emma Meyer Professor and chair of molecular and human genetics, Baylor College of Medicine.

David M. Kingsley ‘81 B.S., investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and professor of developmental biology, Stanford University.

Brian K. Kobilka ‘81 M.D., professor of molecular and cellular physiology and of medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine.

Paul L. McEuen ‘91 Ph.D., the Goldwin Smith Professor of Physics, Cornell University.

Ira S. Mellman ‘78 Ph.D., vice president of research oncology, Genentech Inc., South San Francisco, California.

The new members will be inducted into the National Academy of Sciences next April during its annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this