Four faculty win Guggenheim Fellowships

Four Yale faculty members have been awarded fellowships by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

This year’s winners are: Seyla Benhabib, the Eugene Meyer Professor of Political Science and Philosophy, and adjunct professor at the Law School; Jennifer Prah Ruger, associate professor of epidemiology and public health, and adjunct professor at the Law School; Aleh Tsyvinski, professor of economics and co-director of the Macroeconomic Research Program at the Cowles Foundation; and Cynthia Zarin, senior lecturer in English.

Seyla Benhabib

A renowned feminist theorist, Benhabib concentrates her research and teaching on 19th- and 20th-century European social and political thought. Her Guggenheim project is titled “The Contested Future of Sovereignty: International Law and Democracy.”

Jennifer Prah Ruger

Ruger’s research and scholarship is in public health and health policy, especially the intersection of ethics, economics and politics in health and health care. Her Guggenheim project is “Global Health Justice and Governance.”

Aleh Tsyvinski

Tsyvinski is an expert on macroeconomics and public economics, with a special emphasis on public policy, taxation and regulations of financial markets. His Guggenheim project is “Optimal Dynamic Taxes and Social Insurance.”

Cynthia Zarin

A staff writer at The New Yorker and a contributing editor for Gourmet, Zarin is also the author of several poetry books and children’s stories. She will use her Guggenheim award to focus on her poetry.

Campus & Community