Yale researchers elected to world’s largest scientific society

Five Yale scientists have been selected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Members of the AAAS bestow the honor on their peers in recognition of their efforts to advance science and its applications. All told, 503 scientists and scholars from around the world were elected this year.

The Yale faculty elected as fellows are:

John A. Bargh, professor of psychology, for “distinguished contributions to the field of social cognitive psychology, including theory and research on the automatic and unconscious sources of human behavior.”

Timothy G. Gregoire
, the J. P. Weyerhaeuser, Jr. Professor of Forest Management at the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, for “distinguished contributions in the application and development of statistical methods for natural resources and environmental phenomena and for professional and cross-disciplinary leadership.”

Abraham Silberschatz
, the Sidney J. Weinberg Professor of Computer Science and chair of the Department of Computer Science, for “distinguished contributions to the theory and technology of data management systems.”

David K. Skelly, professor in the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies and the Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, and curator of herpetology at the Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History, for “distinguished fundamental contributions toward understanding landscape-scale structure and dynamics of animal populations.”

Ellen Thomas, a senior research scientist in the Department of Geology and Geophysics, for “fundamental contributions towards understanding the environmental controls on the distribution of benthic foraminifera and outstanding record of service to the scientific community.”

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate at the 2011 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. on Feb. 19. The names of the new fellows also will be published in the “AAAS News & Notes” section of Science on Jan. 28.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science. AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more. See www.aaas.org for more information.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this