MEDIA ADVISORY: Yale Experts Available for Interviews During National Women’s Health Week

National Women’s Health Week is May 9-15. According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the goal of this nationwide initiative is to empower women to make their health a top priority and encourage them to take simple steps for a longer, healthier, and happier life.

With this in mind, Yale School of Medicine and Yale School of Public Health are making several experts available to talk about women’s health needs and concerns. They are:

  • Harlan Krumholz, M.D., is an expert in the prevention, treatment and outcome of cardiovascular disease, and is currently studying the detection and treatment of heart attacks in young women. Contact: 203-764-5653 or harlan.krumholz@yale.edu
  • Melinda Irwin, Ph.D., examines the effects of exercise on breast and ovarian cancer. Contact: 203-785-6392 or melinda.irwin@yale.edu
  • Karen Sutton, M.D., specializes in treating women with orthopedic issues, especially sports-related. Because of the difference in anatomy, women’s injuries must be treated differently than those of men. Contact: 203-737-7678 or karen.sutton@yale.edu
  • Andrea Weinberger, Ph.D., is a psychiatrist who researchers why women find it more difficult than men to quit smoking, and the relationship between depression and addictive behaviors like smoking and drinking. Contact: 203-974-7598 or andrea.weinberger@yale.edu
  • Jeannette Ickovics, Ph.D., studies the behaviors that put adolescent women at risk for pregnancy, HIV and other sexually transmitted infections. Contact: (203) 785-6213 or jeannette.ickovics@yale.edu

Please note: Yale University maintains full radio and television broadcast studios with full satellite transmission capability.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Helen Dodson: helen.dodson@yale.edu, 203-436-3984

Karen N. Peart: karen.peart@yale.edu, 203-432-1326