Campus Notes: Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Benefit concert

The Yale Jazz Ensemble will perform a benefit concert at 7 p.m. on Monday, April 12, in the courtyard of the John C. Daniels School, 569 Congress Ave., in New Haven.

Proceeds from the event, titled “Jazz Under the Stars,” will be used to purchase high quality new instruments for the John C. Daniels Band. The suggested donation for admittance is $5 for adults; children will be admitted free.

To reserve tickets, contact John Miller at 203-623-8691 or by e-mail at

The concert is sponsored by Local 35, the union representing service and maintenance workers at Yale.

Wallerstein receives prize

Immanuel Wallerstein, senior research scientist in sociology, received his 15th honoris causa on Feb. 19 from the Zrinyi Miklos National Defence University in Budapest, Hungary. On March 11, he was awarded the third annual Mondo Migrante-Fondazione Carige Prize for Studies on International Migration. The ceremony took place in the Palazzo Ducale in Genoa, Italy.

Wallerstein writes in three domains of world-systems analysis: the historical development of the modern world-system; the contemporary crisis of the capitalist world-economy; and the structures of knowledge.

Design meeting

The School of Drama is one of the organizers of Design Meeting 2010, an inaugural event for graduating theater designers.

The meeting will be held May 29-31 at the Pope Auditorium in Fordham College at Lincoln Center, 113 West 60th St., New York. The other organizers are the California Institute of the Arts and New York University Tisch School of the Arts.

The event will serve “as an introduction of graduating MFA scenic, costume, lighting and sound designers to the professional theater community through a project gallery and portfolio presentation.” The focus of the event will be on the dialogue between professional theater directors, choreographers and designers in a series of one-on-one conversations.

For more information, theater professionals should contact John Coyne at 203-299-0830.

Margulis honored

Gregory Margulis, the Erastus L. DeForest Professor of Mathematics, was awarded a Doctorate Honoris Causa by the Ecole Normale Superieure in Paris for his “outstanding academic achievements in the field of mathematics.”

Ecole Normale is considered the most prestigious higher education institution in France.

Yale women’s and men’s ice hockey players named to the All-Ivy League team

Four men’s ice hockey players were selected for the All-Ivy League team.

Sean Backman, Broc Little and Tom Dignard all earned a spot on the league’s first team, while Mark Arcobello was a second-team selection. Backman was also named 2009-10 Ivy League Player of the Year.

Backman, an Ivy first-team pick all four years, is Yale’s first Ivy Player of the Year since 2000-01.

Three Yale women’s ice hockey players were also named All-Ivy League.

The players were senior defenseman Alyssa Clarke, junior forward Bray Ketchum and junior goaltender Jackee Snikeris. Snikeris earned first team honors, while Ketchum was on the second team and Clarke earned honorable mention.

For more information, visit

Zhou honored for his ‘innovative contributions’

Harrison Zhou, associate professor of statistics, received the 2010 Tweedie New Researcher Award from the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).

The IMS selected Zhou for “innovative and significant contributions to the theory and methods of non-parametric function estimation; for outstanding contributions to high-dimensional statistical inference, including estimation of large covariance matrices and sparse signals.”

The award will fund Zhou’s travel to present the Tweedie New Researcher Invited Lecture at the IMS meeting of new researchers in statistics and probability in Vancouver next July.

President Levin names three new department chai

President Richard C. Levin announced the following appointments:

Robert Frank, professor of linguistics, as chair of the Department of Linguistics. His term, which will begin on Jan. 1, 2011, will be for two and one-half years. Stephen Anderson, the Dorothy R. Diebold Professor of Linguistics, will extend his term as chair through the 2010 fall semester while Frank is on leave.

Tamar Gendler, professor of philosophy and of psychology, as chair of the Department of Philosophy. Her term will be for three years, effective July 1.

Jung Han, professor of electrical engineering, as chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering. His term will be for three years, effective July 1.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this