AAAS Honors Four Yale Faculty for Their Scientific Research

Four Yale professors have been elected by their peers in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as fellows in honor of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

They are: Mark Gerstein, the Albert L. Williams Professor of Biomedical Informatics, and professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry, and computer science; Andrew Hill, the J. Clayton Stephenson Professor of Anthropology and curator of anthropology in the Yale Peabody Museum; G. Shirleen Roeder, professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology and of genetics and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigator; and Gerald I. Shulman, the G.R. Cogwill Professor of Medicine, professor of cellular and molecular physiology and an HHMI investigator.

According to their citations, Gerstein was elected “for distinguished contributions in the area of computational biology and genomics, particularly in developing computational tools for interrogating genomic data”; Hill for his distinguished contributions “to the field of human evolution, and particularly the relationship of hominins to the changing ecosystems of which they were a part”; Roeder for her distinguished contributions “to the area of molecular genetics, particularly in the elucidation of mechanisms and molecules that act in meiosis”; and Shulman for his distinguished contributions “to the understanding of type 2 diabetes, notably mechanisms of insulin resistance.”

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this