Yale Faculty Elected to Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

Eleven Yale faculty members have been elected to the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering in recognition of their contributions to the advancement of science. To be elected to the academy, scientists and engineers must achieve distinction through original contributions of theoretical or applied science or engineering.

“We are very proud of this year’s newly elected members and are pleased to celebrate their accomplishments through their election to the academy,” said CASE president Myron Genel, professor emeritus of pediatrics and senior research scientist at the Yale School of Medicine.

The newly elected members are:

Michael Donoghue, the G. Evelyn Hutchinson Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Vice President for West Campus Planning and Program Development

Peter Jones, the James E. English Professor of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

John Krystal, the Robert L. McNeil Jr. Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the Yale School of Medicine

Lynne Regan, professor of molecular biophysics & biochemistry and professor of chemistry

Peter Salovey, Yale University Provost and the Chris Argyris Professor of Psychology

William Sessa, professor of pharmacology at the Yale School of Medicine

Robert Sherwin, the C.N.H. Long Professor of Medicine at the Yale School of Medicine and director of the Diabetes Endocrinology Research Center

Abraham Silberschatz, chair and the Sidney J. Weinberg Professor of Computer Science

Joann Sweasy, professor of therapeutic radiology and genetics at the Yale School of Medicine

William Tamborlane, professor and section chief of pediatric endocrinology at the Yale School of Medicine

T. Kyle Vanderlick, dean of the Yale School of Engineering & Applied Science and professor of chemical engineering

The new members will be introduced at the academy’s annual meeting and dinner on at the New England Air Museum on May 20.

Media Contact

Suzanne Taylor Muzzin: suzanne.taylormuzzin@yale.edu, 203-432-8555