Teachers and Students are Honored at Commencement with Special Prizes

Six faculty members and 17 graduating seniors were honored for their talents during the Class Day ceremony on May 25 on the Old Campus.

The faculty members who were nominated by undergraduates to receive the Yale College Prizes for Distinguished Teaching and the names of their awards are: John Lewis Gaddis, the Robert A. Lovett Professor of History - the Harwood F. Byrnes ‘08S/Richard B. Sewall Teaching Prize, given to the teacher who has “given the most time, energy and effective effort” to educating undergraduates; Stanley Eisenstat, professor of computer science - the Dylan Hixon ‘88 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Natural Sciences; Keith Wrightson, the Randolph W. Townsend Jr. Professor of History - the Sidonie Miskimin Clauss Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Humanities; Boris Kapustin, visiting professor in ethics, politics and economics and in political science - the Lex Hixon ‘63 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Social Sciences; Cynthia Horan, lecturer in political science - the Richard H. Brodhead ‘68 Prize for Teaching Excellence by a Non-ladder Faculty Member. In addition, Ludger Viefhues-Bailey, assistant professor of religious studies and women’s, gender and sexuality studies, was presented the Sarai Ribicoff ‘79 Award for the Encouragement of Teaching in Yale College.

Students honored at the event are: Angel Enriquez, Betny Ann Townsend, Colleen Purcell and Jessica Norebaert - the Robert E. Lewis Prize for intramural sports; Lauren Taylor - the Nellie Pratt Elliot Award for the athletic distinction and sportsmanship; Joshua Cox - the William Neely Mallory Award for athletic distinction and sportsmanship; Mark Schneider and Altaf Saadi - the David Everett Chantler Award for courage, strength of character and high moral purpose; Jessica M. Bialecki and Diana Mosca - the Roosevelt L. Thompson Prize for public service; Daniel Turner-Evans - the James Andrew Haas Prize for inspiring in classmates a love of learning and concern for others; Emily A. Bala - the Warren Memorial Scholarship Prize for the senior in the humanities who ranks the highest in scholarship; Dimiter V. Ostrev - the Arthur Twining Hadley Prize for the senior majoring in the social sciences who ranks highest in scholarship; Khang D. Nguyen - the Russell Henry Chittenden Prize for the senior majoring in the natural sciences or mathematics who ranks the highest in scholarship; Annie R. Rosen and Felicia L. Ricci - the Louis Sudler Prize for excellence in the performing or creative arts; Altaf Saadi and Funmi Showole - the Nakanishi Prize for the two graduating seniors who have maintained high academic achievement and provided exemplary leadership in enhancing race and/or ethnic relations; and Benjamin M. Eidelson - the Alpheus Henry Snow Prize for the senior who “has done the most for Yale by inspiring in his or her classmates an admiration and love for the best traditions of high scholarship.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this