Charlie Rose to Deliver the Gary G. Fryer Memorial Lecture

Charlie Rose, Emmy award-winning journalist and executive editor and anchor of the nightly PBS interview show Charlie Rose, will deliver the Gary G. Fryer Memorial Lecture at Yale on Wednesday, April 18.

Rose will discuss “The Interview at the Heart of Changing Journalism,” at 5:30 p.m. in the Levinson Auditorium of Yale Law School, 127 Wall St. The event is free and open to the public.

Rose began his journalistic career in the 1970s doing freelance work for the BBC and went on to serve as managing editor for the PBS series Bill Moyers’ International Report in 1974. He also worked for CBS News as the anchor of CBS News Nightwatch and later as a correspondent for 60 Minutes II.

Charlie Rose has been a unique venue for individuals in politics, performing arts, literature, film, science, medicine and business since 1991. Rose has received numerous honorary degrees and journalistic awards, including a 1976 Peabody Award for “A Conversation with Jimmy Carter” and a 1987 Emmy Award for an interview with Charles Manson.

Born in Henderson, North Carolina, Rose graduated from Duke University with a BA in history and a JD from the Duke Law School. He lives in New York City and serves as a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

The Fryer Memorial Lecture commemorates Gary G. Fryer, who served as director of public affairs and special assistant to President Richard C. Levin, and directed the Poynter Fellowship in Journalism at Yale from 1994 until 1997. The lecture in his honor focuses on the ethical responsibilities of individuals involved in government, higher education and communications.

The Poynter Fellowship in Journalism at Yale, which sponsors the Fryer Lecture, was established by Nelson Poynter, who received his master’s degree in 1927 from Yale. The fellowship brings to campus journalists who have made significant contributions to their field. Recent Poynter fellows include Peter Beinart, David Brooks, Al Franken, Margaret Warner, Michael Wilbon, Judy Woodruff and Bob Woodward.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this