Fleury to Lead Yale Institute for Nanoscience and Quantum Engineering

Yale Provost Andrew Hamilton has announced that Paul Fleury, Dean of Engineering, will be the new Director of the Yale Institute for Nanoscience and Quantum Engineering (YINQE), a program launched in October 2006 to build on existing research strengths in Yale sciences and engineering, and to broaden the interdisciplinary activity among faculty and students across the university.

Paul Fleury

Fleury, who is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences, has been instrumental in organizing the new Institute. He will coordinate the initial activities of the core investigators associated with YINQE and oversee efforts to involve faculty from other disciplines to explore this new area.

In addition, Associate Directors, representing two major research cores of the Institute, have been appointed.

Mark Reed, the Harold Hodgkinson Professor of Engineering and Applied Science, will provide expertise in microelectronics and nanotechnology. Reed is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and an active member of the National Science Foundation Center for Research on Interface Structures and Phenomena (CRISP).

Steven Girvin

Steven Girvin, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics and Applied Physics, will champion his interests in quantum computation, theoretical condensed matter physics, and superconductivity. Girvin is a Member of the National Academy of Sciences, and in March 2007 will receive the Oliver E. Buckley award of the American Physical Society (APS), the most distinguished award in condensed matter physics.

“We are pleased to have such an outstanding leadership team,” said Hamilton. “Their eminence in research, mentoring and management are already producing extraordinary collaborations and scientific breakthroughs.”

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Janet Rettig Emanuel: janet.emanuel@yale.edu, 203-432-2157