President's Public Service Fellows

Thirty-six Yale students, chosen from a pool of more than 200 applicants, are working in the community as this year’s President’s Public Service Fellows.

Established by Yale President Richard C. Levin in 1994, the fellowships provide stipends to students who work for local not-for-profit organizations for 8–12 weeks during the summer. The fellowships compensate students so they can work in the public interest, and provide highly motivated and capable summer help to community organizations at no cost.

Since its inception, more than 380 Yale students have contributed over 160,000 hours of community service to New Haven’s nonprofit and public sector agencies as President’s Public Service Fellows. In addition to fieldwork in local agencies, Fellows meet weekly and produce formal written reports on their projects.

Following is a list of participating agencies, Fellows and their Yale affiliation:

Agency Public Service Fellow School
All Our Kin Joanna Zdanys Yale College
Arts Council Scott Chaloff Yale College
Artspace Rebecca Rindler Drama
Casa Otonal Eileen Zelek Yale College
Christian Community Action Alicia Brooks Divinity
City of New Haven:    
Chief Administrator’s Office   
Bradley Broadhead II Yale College
Planning Department   
Omar Rouchon Yale College
Mayor’s Office   
David Wheelock Yale College
Office of Cultural Affairs   
Thomas Russell Drama
Office of Economic Development   
Irena Politzer Management
CitySeed Charles Alvarez Yale College
Connecticut Children’s Museum Jennifer Goldman Yale College
Creative Arts Workshop Laura Kremen-Adler Yale College
Dixwell-Yale Community Learning Center Terrell Sledge Yale College
Dixwell-Yale Community Learning Center Olufunmilayo Showole Yale College
Eli Whitney Museum John Miller Music
Empower New Haven Daniel A. Naughton Yale College
Fair Haven Community Health Center Daniel Kim Epidemiology & Public Health
Footebridge Sashini N. Jayawardane Yale College
Greater New Haven Chamber of Commerce Anthony Mozzi Yale College
Hill Development Corporation Dan Cantey Divinity
Hill Health Center Anjali Varma Yale College
International Festival of Arts & Ideas Stephanie Wright Yale College
JUNTA for Progressive Action Sarahi Uribe Yale College
Market New Haven Erica Thomas Management
Neighborhood Housing Services Jennifer James Yale College
New Haven Ecology Project Alison Frazzini Yale College
New Haven Housing Authority Cari Carson Yale College
New Haven Reads Keneisha Sinclair Yale College
Reach Elijah Hayward III Divinity
Summerbridge Joshua Goodstein Yale College
Town Green Special Services Erin Johnson Yale College
Urban Resources Initiative Suzanne Oversvee Forestry & Environmental Studies
Yale National Youth Sports Program Sarah Whitfield Yale College
Yale SCHOLAR Program Diana Mosca Yale College
Urban Design Workshop Timothy Applebee Architecture

To interview any of the President’s Public Service Fellows and learn more about them and their projects, please contact the Office of Public Affairs.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Gila Reinstein:, 203-432-1325