Association of Yale Alumni Names Yale Medalists

Five Yale University alumni have been selected by the Association of Yale Alumni (AYA) to receive the Yale Medal in 2006. 

This year’s recipients are Philip G. Boyle ’71, Hon. Howard M. Holtzmann ’42, ’47 JD, Frederick R. Mayer ’50, Howard H. Newman ’69, ’69 MA and Deborah Rose ’72, ’77 MPH, ’89 PhD.

Inaugurated in 1952, the Yale Medal is the highest award presented by the Association of Yale Alumni and is conferred solely to recognize and honor outstanding individual service to the University. Since its inception, the Yale Medal has been presented to 257 individuals, all of whom not only showed extraordinary devotion to the ideals of the University but also were conspicuous in demonstrating their support of Yale through extensive, exemplary voluntary service on behalf of Yale as a whole or one of its many schools, institutes or programs.

Boyle has served Yale with distinction and devotion in his many volunteer leadership roles. His longtime service and leadership for the Yale Club of Boston led him to become an AYA Delegate in 1992. He was then elected to the AYA Board of Governors in 1995, and subsequently served from 1995 to 2004 as Secretary, Treasurer, Vice-Chair and Chair. As Chair, Boyle was instrumental in a number of new initiatives including efforts to engage alumni through their shared interests. Most recently, Boyle chaired the search committee for the new AYA Executive Director.

Holtzmann has served in many volunteer roles for almost seven decades: as AYA At-large Delegate and Alumni Fund Agent Chair, and including membership on his Yale College and Yale Law School Reunion Gift committees. Judge Holtzmann has been a significant supporter and advisor to the Slifka Center for Jewish Life and in 2000 endowed the Jewish Chaplaincy at Yale, establishing the first such position at an American college campus. In 1994 Holtzmann endowed a professorship in international law and has established fellowships in that field. He is an Associate Fellow of Pierson College and has been active over the years in improving its building and plantings.

Mayer has been an active volunteer on behalf of his class and the University Art Gallery. He has served on the Art Gallery Board since 1988 and as Chair from 1995–2003; he still continues to serve on the Board. Mayer has provided exceptional leadership and wise counsel throughout the years. He has been tireless in his role as the Gallery’s leading ambassador to the broader alumni community. Mayer has also been active with his class and presently serves as a member of the Class Council. Mayer has exhibited both a deep affection for Yale and the ability to galvanize a broad range of initiatives including the Gallery’s educational outreach efforts to New Haven and the regional community.

Newman has been a consummate volunteer and alumni leader for Yale over the years. His commitment and dedication especially to his class and to Yale has been extraordinary. Newman has been the driving force behind many campaigns for Yale. He serves on the University Council as a member at-large and has chaired the University Council Committee on New Haven Economic Development. His boundless energy, enthusiasm and love for the University have made him an outstanding volunteer. As chair of the Alumni Fund, he spent incalculable hours leading over 1,500 alumni volunteers to raise funds for Yale. 

Rose has served her class as Secretary, Class Council member and Reunion Chair.  Her dedication extends beyond her class to many areas of the University and the surrounding community, including the Sterling Memorial Library, Jonathan Edwards College, and the new Rose Center that houses both the Yale Police Department and the Dixwell Community Center.  She initiated computerization of the branch libraries of the New Haven Free Public Library.  A longtime supporter of Yale’s initiatives to help revitalize the city of New Haven, Rose has worked since her earliest days at Yale with community outreach programs through Dwight Hall, the Yale affiliated student-run public service organization.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Gila Reinstein:, 203-432-1325