President Richard C. Levin honored with the Community Dialogue Project's Leadership Award

Yale University President Richard C. Levin

Yale University President Richard C. Levin was honored with the Community Dialogue Project’s 2006 Reverend Howard Nash Community Leadership Award on May 3 at the New Haven Lawn Club.

The Dialogue Project, founded in 1997, is a collaborative effort of Community Mediation, Inc. (CM) and Interfaith Cooperative Ministries, Inc. (ICM) —a council of 43 faith communities, including Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Unitarian and Baha’i congregations. During the project’s first eight years, more than 2,000 people from over 100 organizations have come together to address discrimination within the New Haven community. The Community Leadership Award is named in memory of the late Reverend Howard Nash of Saint Bernadette’s Roman Catholic Church, who was one of the Dialogue Project founders and a former ICM President.

“Our Award Committee selected you as the 2006 honoree not only for the work you have done as Yale’s President to engage the City of New Haven in an unprecedented dialogue and partnership, but also for many other initiatives undertaken by University officials and students too numerous to name,” according to a letter signed by Charles A. Pillsbury, executive director of CM; Reed Smith, ICM coordinator; and Esther Armand, Dialogue Project Steering Committee chair.

From left to right: Charles Kochakian, Editorial Page Editor, New Haven Register, Bill Dyson, State Representative, Rabbi Herbert Brockman, Temple Mishkan Israel, President Richard C. Levin, Lindy Lee Gold, Mayor John Destefano, Bishop Peter Rosazza

Among the initiatives cited in the letter are Bruce Alexander’s and Michael Morand’s leadership of the Yale University Office of New Haven & State Affairs; the participation of University Police Chief James Perrotti and other Yale police officers in the Community Justice Dialogue Project; Cynthia Farrar’s pioneering work in dialogue and deliberation, and as previous DP Steering Committee Chair; contributions of Yale Divinity School graduates Zachary Pall and Ted De Barbieri, who served as DP student interns and then DP coordinators; and the successful completion by 15 Yale students of a 10-hour facilitation training offered on campus by the DP in 2005, sponsored by the undergraduate organization Realizing Race and funded by the Community Foundation for Greater New Haven.

Prior to assuming the presidency of Yale in 1993, Levin was Dean of Yale’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. A distinguished economist, he has served as Chair of Yale’s Economics Department and has been a member of Yale’s faculty of since 1974. He holds honorary degrees from Peking, Harvard, Princeton and Oxford universities and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Gila Reinstein:, 203-432-1325