Light and Truth in the Piazza

Yale University was the biggest winner at the Tony Awards this year, with nine graduates of the Yale School of Drama and three alumni of Yale College taking home Broadway’s most coveted prize.

Even more remarkably, six of the 12 Yale laureates won for the musical hit “Light in the Piazza”: Victoria Clark (Yale College ’82), best actress in a musical; Adam Guettel (YC ’87), best score, and with Ted Sperling (YC ’83), best orchestration; Michael Yeargan (Yale School of Drama ’73), best scenic design of a musical; Catherine Zuber (YSD ’84), best costume design of a musical; and Christopher Akerlind (YSD ’89), best lighting design of a musical.

Other Tony–winning Yale School of Drama graduates, and the categories in which they won are:

Best Play
Lynne Meadow (’71), Artistic Director of the Manhattan Theater Club, a producer of “Doubt, a Parable.”

Best Revival of a Play
Pun Bandhu (’01), founding partner of Zendog Productions, a producer of “Glengarry Glen Ross.”

Best Book of a Musical
Rachel Sheinkin (’95), “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.”

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play
Liev Schreiber (’92), “Glengarry Glen Ross.”

Best Scenic Design of a Play
Scott Pask (’97), “The Pillowman.”

Best Costume Design of a Play
Jess Goldstein (’78), “The Rivals.”

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Dorie Baker:, 203-432-1345