Four Yale K12 Mentored Clinical Research Scholars Announced

The Yale K12 Mentored Clinical Research Scholar Award Program announces four award recipients for the 2005–2006 academic year.

The Yale K12 Mentored Clinical Research Scholar Award Program announces four award recipients for the 2005–2006 academic year.

Recipients include: Kristina Crothers, M.D., instructor, internal medicine (pulmonary); Arthur Simen, M.D., assistant professor, psychiatry; David Van Duin, M.D., postdoctoral fellow, internal medicine (infectious diseases); and Henry Klar Yaggi, M.D., assistant professor, internal medicine (pulmonary) and affiliate of the K12 Program.

“We had an incredibly strong pool of applicants and making the final decision was very difficult,” said Sharon K. Inouye, M.D., program director. “We have high hopes for our awardees to emerge as leaders in patient–oriented research, which is the mission of the K12 Mentored Clinical Research Scholars Program.”

Funded by the National Center for Research Resources, the K12 Program provides a generous stipend and a research and tuition allowance to physician investigators interested in pursuing a career in patient–oriented research. Applicants submit a research proposal, career development plan, and letters of recommendation and undergo interviews and evaluation by members of the program’s Executive Advisory Board. Key to the program is the relationship between the candidate and their faculty research mentor.

Crothers will investigate the pathophysiology of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease in HIV–positive patients compared to HIV–negative patients. Simen’s project is titled, “Genetic Studies of Major Depressive Disorder.” Van Duin will investigate “Toll–Like Receptors in Older Adults and Response to Vaccination.” He is also enrolled in the Investigative Medicine Ph.D. Program. Klar Yaggi will conduct a project titled “A Prognostic System for Cardiovascular Morbidity and Mortality in Patients with Sleep Apnea.”

These candidates join four trainees already enrolled in the program: Karen Dorsey, M.D., (Pediatrics/Investigative Medicine), Peter Morgan, M.D., (Psychiatry), Margaret Pisani, M.D., (Internal Medicine, Pulmonary) and Nina Kadan–Lottick, M.D., (Pediatrics, Hematology/Oncology).

Executive Advisory Board Members for the program include: Sharon K. Inouye, M.D., M.P.H. (Internal Medicine); Amy Justice, M.D., Ph.D. (Internal Medicine Stanislav Kasl, Ph.D.(Epidemiology and Public Health); Thomas Kosten, M.D. (Psychiatry); Harlan Krumholz, M.D., S.M. (Internal Medicine); John Krystal, M.D. (Psychiatry); Harvey Risch, M.D., Ph.D. (Epidemiology and Public Health); Eugene Shapiro, M.D.(Pediatrics); Robert Sherwin, M.D. (Internal Medicine); and William Tamborlane, M.D. (Pediatrics).

Additional information on the K12 program, including application deadlines for future funding cycles will be available at

Share this with Facebook Share this with X Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Karen N. Peart:, 203-980-2222