Celebrating Elm and Ivy Leaders

Yale University President Richard C. Levin and New Haven Mayor John DeStefano, Jr. will present the 26th Annual Yale University Seton Elm and Ivy Awards on Monday, May 2, noon to 2 p.m. in the Presidents Room of Woolsey Hall.

The ceremony is by invitation only, but members of the media are welcome to attend.

The Awards were established at Yale in 1979 by Fenmore Seton, Yale Class of 1938, and his wife, Phyllis. The awards evolved from the Elm and Ivy Fund, also created by the Setons, which identifies and honors individuals from New Haven and Yale whose work enhances understanding and cooperation between the two. New Haven is nicknamed the “Elm City.” Yale is an “Ivy League” university.

Elm Awards are given to adults in the New Haven community. Ivy Awards are given to Yale staff, faculty and students. This year, 12 individuals will be honored for their contributions to the community.

Gerald Clark: president of the Greater New Haven Business and Professional Association
Claire Criscuolo, founder and owner of Claire’s Corner Copia and longtime civic activist
Daniel Diaz: founder of Arte, Inc., and former president of the board of Junta for Progressive Action
Sean Glass, Miles Lassater, Mark Volchek: founders of Higher One and Y.E.S.

Ivy faculty and staff
Doris Dumas: clinical practice specialist in the department of anesthesiology
Victoria Nolan: managing director of the Yale Repertory Theatre and Yale School of Drama
Ainissa Ramirez: assistant professor of mechanical engineering
Thomas Whitaker: professor emeritus of English and of theater studies

Ivy undergraduates
Jonathan Farmer: Class of 2005, director of the U.S. Grant program
Baolu Lan: Class of 2006, tutor and student coordinator of America Reads

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Gila Reinstein: gila.reinstein@yale.edu, 203-432-1325