Edward H. Kaplan Elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies

Edward H. Kaplan, the William N. and Marie A. Beach Professor of Management Sciences at the Yale School of Management, and professor of Public Health at Yale School of Medicine, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health.

Kaplan is one of 65 new members and five foreign associates announced by the Institute of Medicine (IOM). Established in 1970, IOM is one of four organizations that make up the National Academies. It is a national resource for independent research and recommendations on health issues. Its members devote a significant amount of volunteer time to IOM committees, which engage in a broad range of studies on health policy issues.

“Members are elected through a highly selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health,” said IOM President Harvey V. Fineberg.

Kaplan, who is only the second professor from the Yale School of Management to be elected to the Institute of Medicine, is an operations research and statistics expert who studies problems in public policy and management. His recent research has focused on counterterror topics such as the tactical prevention of suicide bombings, bioterror preparedness, and response logistics in the event of a smallpox or anthrax attack. These studies have influenced national and international bioterror policy, and his work on smallpox was awarded the 2003 Koopman Prize of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) Military Applications Society.

Kaplan has also conducted award-winning research that evaluates the effectiveness of HIV prevention programs, including New Haven’s now-famous needle exchange, while developing new mathematical models for the study of HIV transmission and prevention. His honors include the 2002 INFORMS President’s Award recognizing work that advances the welfare of society, the 1994 Lanchester Prize for best publications in the operations research literature, and the 1992 Franz Edelman Award for management science achievement.

In addition, Kaplan is one of only 27 people elected as a member of another arm of the National Academies, the National Academy of Engineering.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Karen N. Peart: karen.peart@yale.edu, 203-432-1326