Three Yale Students Among 2003 Marshall Scholarship Winners

Three Yale College seniors are among 40 leading young Americans who were awarded Marshall Scholarships to study at a university in Great Britain next year.

Chesa Boudin, of Chicago, is a history major. He spent his junior year studying at the University of Chile as a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar and has volunteered in community service projects in Guatemala and Chile as well as at Yale-New Haven Hospital. Boudin lectures and publishes on families and the criminal justice system, his main areas of interest. His published papers include “The Memoir of a Man Who Overcame a Bleak Past and Found a Bright Future” (Chicago Tribune Book Review) and “In Prison Again” ( More recently named a Rhodes Scholar, Boudin has opted to forfeit his Marshall Scholarship.

Keira Driansky, of Penn Valley, PA, is an applied mathematics major, with a concentration in economics and biochemistry. She will use her Marshall Scholarship at Cambridge University to pursue her interest in “pharmacogenomics,” that is, developing drugs for specific genotypic subgroups. One application of this research is to identify incompatibilities between a particular drug or classification of drugs and certain genotypes and to develop drugs that are effective substitutes where such incompatibilities exist. At Yale, Driansky has tutored students in New Haven’s public schools in mathematics and science.

Kristina Weaver, of Hampton,VA, is a senior who plans to use her Marshall Scholarship to study social anthropology at Cambridge University followed by anthropology and development at the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London. She recently completed an internship with anthropologist Kamari Clarke, at the 10th Preparatory Commission for the International Criminal Court at the United Nations headquarters in New York, where she explored the role of non-governmental organizations in the formation and implementation of the court. She is the recipient of a Ford Foundation grant to conduct anthropological fieldwork in Ibadan, Nigeria on political changes and the student pro-democracy movement.

Over a thousand young Americans have received Marshall Scholarships since the program’s inception in 1953. Prominent past Marshall Scholars include U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer; Duke University president (and Yale alumna, Ph.D.’67) Nannerl Keohane; Pulitzer Prize-winning authors Tom Friedman of the New York Times and Dan Yergin (“The Prize”); Stanford Law School Dean Kathleen Sullivan; and noted inventor Ray Dolby.

The Marshall Scholarships were established as a British gesture of thanks to the people of the United States for the assistance received after World War II under the Marshall Plan. Financed by the British government, the highly competitive scholarships provide an opportunity for American students who have demonstrated academic excellence to continue their studies for two to three years at a British university of their choice.

The scholarships are worth about $60,000 each. In addition to intellectual distinction, Marshall selectors seek individuals who are likely to become leaders in their field and make a contribution to society. The exceptional academic achievements of this year’s scholars are matched by their commitment to public service, artistic talent and triumph over adversity.

Note to Editors: For more information on the Marshall Scholarships, see

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Dorie Baker:, 203-432-1345