Yale Physicist Wins Prestigious 2003 Lars Onsager Prize From the American Physical Society

Pierre C. Hohenberg, deputy provost for science and technology and adjunct professor of physics and applied physics has received the prestigious 2003 Lars Onsager Prize from the American Physical Society.

Hohenberg received the honor for research that extends over his 40-year career, including work conducted at Bell Laboratories in statistical and condensed matter physics. The society cited Hohenberg for contributions to the theory of dynamic scaling close to critical points, the theory of pattern formation in nonequilibrium systems, and density functional theory.

“This award is a measure of impact and recognition and it is pleasing,” said Hohenberg.

The $15,000 Lars Onsager Prize was endowed in 1993 by University of Oregon professor Russell Donnelly and his late wife Marian in memory of Onsager’s unique spirit and his passion for analytical results. Donnelly, who received his doctorate at Yale in 1956, has said he considers Onsager one of the greatest mathematical physicists of all time.

The prize was first presented in 1995 and annually beginning in 1997. It recognizes lifetime achievement and outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics including the quantum fluids.

One of Hohenberg’s many other awards is the 1990 Fritz London Memorial Prize for low temperature physics, which Donnelly also won in 2002.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this

Media Contact

Karen N. Peart: karen.peart@yale.edu, 203-432-1326