Elm and Ivy Awards To Be Given to Area Residents, Students For Enhancing Cooperation Between Yale and City of New Haven

New Haven Mayor John DeStefano Jr. and Yale President Richard C. Levin will present awards on Tuesday, May 5, to more than a dozen area residents and students who have made significant contributions to strengthening the relationship between the City and the University. The awards ceremony will take place in the President’s Room of Woolsey Hall, corner of Grove and College streets, beginning at 1 p.m. Reporters are invited to attend.

The Elm and Ivy Awards were established at Yale in 1979 by Fenmore R. Seton, Class of 1938, and his wife, Phyllis. The Setons created the Elm and Ivy Fund at the New Haven Foundation (now the Community Foundation for Greater New Haven) in order to identify and honor individuals whose work enhances town-gown understanding and cooperation. Since the inception of the program, 185 people have received the prestigious civic awards.

Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with LinkedIn Share this with Email Print this